183rd Annual Conference Nomination Process

The nomination process of the 183rd Annual Assembly of the Liberia Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church started on Friday of yesterday, at 2:30PM, February 12, 2016. nom p 1

The process was participated by all 20 districts and 1 circuit of the Liberia Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church with a total of 1,541 members. 793 clergy members and 748 lay members throughout the Liberia Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church. Gbarnga District was represented with 180 members of equal laity to clergy being the highest for a district and the least was Nana Kru with 4 lay members and 13 clergy members. nom p 4

The process of nomination commenced and was presided over by Bishop Yambasu assisted by Rev. Momo S. Kpaan and later Rev. Dr. Lawrence Bropleh. All voting members were announced and invited into the hall to nominate nominees likely to be the next Bishop of the Liberia Area. The process was opened and members delightfully voted eligible elders in full connection. United Methodists of the Liberia Area joyfully voted the following names of their choice led by the holy spirit. nom p 3

13 candidates were nominated and only 3 were qualified to have a second round. The Rev. Samuel Quire and Rev. Dr. James Lalaba had a tie in votes(302) with Rev. Dr David Tokpah leading the process with the highest vote of 405.

The first face of the process came to a close at 1:50AM and the second face will continue with the 3 candidates later today, February 13, 2016.nom p 2

It was announced by Bishop Innis that the process continues later in the morning at 8:00AM.





The nomination process to be continue…

(Photos by E. Julu Swen.)


Comments are closed.